Electoral Commission

Sḵwx̱wú7mesh Úxwumixw (Squamish Nation) is governed by a democratically-elected Council for four-year terms. The rules governing these elections are contained in the 1981 Squamish Indian Band Election Regulations. Since their creation, the 1981 Election Regulations have not undergone a single change or amendment. In September 2015, the elected Squamish Chiefs and Council approved the creation of the Electoral Commission as an arms-length body of Members to assist the Squamish People in exploring the topic of election reform.


The Electoral Commission is made up of seven (7) voting members, two (2) alternates, and one (1) non-voting member. The members chosen for the Commission were asked to fill specific seats representing a particular region or demographic of the community. The Squamish Nation Electoral Commission’s term expired at the end of 2019 and Council acknowledged and thanked Dave Jacobs, Christine Baker, Crystal Ricketts, Clarissa Antone, Jacob Lewis, Donalene Rapada, Shayla Jacobs, Renee Campbell, and Brittany John for engaging with the community and incorporating the communities’ feedback which was implemented into Election Law. This was stated in the Quarterly 1 Report (January-March 2020).

On January 23, 2020, Council appointed the members for a four-year term from 2020 to 2024.The current Electoral Commission positions are as follows:

Les Harry
Squamish Valley
Jonny Williams
Xwmel’chtstn (Capilano)
Crystal Ricketts
Eslhá7an & Ch’ich’ílx̱wiḵw’
Kathleen Smith
Saul Joseph
Brittany John

Membership Registrar (non-voting member)
Monica Jacobs

Important Documents

The Membership Registrar, provided he or she is not a candidate or a Squamish elected official, is a non-voting commission member and must not be counted for the decision of quorum, but for all other purposes is considered a full commission member. This is outlined on page 41 of the Squamish Nation Election and Referendum Law in Section 5.1.3(b).

Election and Referendum Law (Approved by membership on December 6, 2018)
Election and Referendum Regulation (Approved by membership on November 5, 2019)
Council Election Timeline for September 26, 2021 Vote


If you have any questions about the Electoral Commission, the Nomination process, and the upcoming elections, please contact us via email at info@snelectoralcommission.com.