Paháyikwup Language Commissioners Appointed

Paháyikwup (Language Commission) is charged with providing guidance on Sḵwx̱wú7mesh Sníchim (Squamish Language), including certifying teachers, determining speaker proficiency levels, and creating a strategic plan for language revitalization. This work is guided by a Terms of Reference and the Sḵwx̱wú7mesh Sníchim Policy which was approved in 2021.

Paháyikwup consists of nine Commissioners who were nominated by Members and approved by Nexwsxwníw̓ntm ta Úxwumixw (Council) in tem tsá7tsḵay̓ (April) 2022. They started their new roles in tem ḵw’élemexw (July) 2022. Paháyikwup is currently meeting monthly as it prepares for the language revitalization strategic planning process.

Ta na wa Ns7éyx̱nitm ta Snew̓íyelh (Language & Cultural Affairs) is in the planning stages to formally present the Commissioners to Membership. 

Click on the photos below to read the bios.


Myia Antone (Welwál̓tnaat)

Myia Antone, Welwál̓tnaat

Chen̓áx̱wtn (Swu7wu) Billy

Swu7wu Billy, Chen̓áx̱wtn

Vanessa Campbell (Iyál)

Vanessa Campbell, Iyál

Victoria Fraser

Victoria Fraser

s7atsáliya (Charlene George)

Charlene George, S7atsáliya

Norman Guerrero Jr (Setálten)

Norman Guerrero Jr, Setálten

Victor Harry (X̱ats’alanexw)

Victor Harry, X̱ats’alanexw

Dr. Peter Jacobs (Tnaxwtn)

Dr. Peter Jacobs, Tnaxwtn

Ray Natraoro (Ses siyám)

Ray Natraoro, Ses siyám